How bad is a laparoscopy?

So just how bad is a laparoscopy?

Well, emotionally harder and physically more painful then I expected.

I had my lap in March after my 6 week ectopic was discovered. Sadly for me, it was developmentally normal and it had a heartbeat. But given I am a hardened infertile of over 6 years now, I never expected to walk away from this with a live baby. To a certain extent that has help protect me from a lot of heartache.

The whole situation happened very fast and the docs wouldn’t let me leave the hospital, I sat in the hospital corridor blubing for 3 hours before my surgery.

Coming round from surgery was pretty hardcore, I felt very sick and vomited quite a lot. The sounds of the other gynae patients around me is pretty horrible. One woman, out of her head on morphine, told me she had written a number of episodes of Coronation Street…..in her head. Bizarre!!

Spent that night not feeling very well, as the nurses woke me every few hours to check I was ok. The pain started the next day. Trapped wind is awful and more painful then you think. Peppermint oil in water is great though and moving around was better then lying down, even if I did have to wheel my drip around with me! Peppermint tea is good too.

I went home the next day and mainly just felt very tired and delicate. Recovery is fairly quick even though they sign you off work for 2 weeks! I have minimal scaring and emotionally I’m ok. Although I’ve only stopped crying daily recently.

What can you do when your alternative is death? Got to count myself lucky, I soppose?

20140426-170916.jpg

20140426-170950.jpg

20140426-171015.jpg

20140426-171045.jpg

2 responses to “How bad is a laparoscopy?

  1. big massive hugs x

Leave a Reply

